The Pillow Academy boys tennis dynasty is over.

The three-time defending state championship winning Mustang tennis team came in second place this year in the Academy AAAA, Division II playoffs. The squad lost to Washington School 101/2 points to 61/2 points.

Senior Sunjay Chawla ended his career with his fifth straight boys singles state championship, defeating Copiah Academy 6-1, 6-4 in the No. 1 singles finals.

Chawla, a 7-year starter for the squad, ended his singles career at Pillow with a 70-4 record. He did not lose a set in his last two years.

Capping off his sixth year as a starter was senior Floyd Melton IV, who won his first state championship with an overpowering 6-0, 6-1 victory over Washington School. Melton played doubles for five years before moving to singles this year.

Senior Cole Tyler’s run as a five-year starter ended with partner Julia Love Lyon with a tough 2-6, 6-4, 3-6 loss in mixed doubles to Simpson Academy. Tyler won a doubles championship four years ago as a freshman.

The No. 1 doubles duo of John Hollis Tackett and John Heston Powers lost in the quarterfinals to Simpson Academy 4-6, 6-4, 10-6.

And the No. 2 doubles combination of eight-graders Arnav Thakur and Sumner Tackett lost 0-6, 7-6, 10-4.

Pillow Academy’s girls tennis teams quest for a three peat came up short as they lost on overall points to arch rival Lamar School on Friday.

Finishing her last campaign as a starter, Mari Brian Crick won her second state championship. Crick teamed with Madison Jeffcoat to defeat Lamar 3-6, 6-4, 6-2 in No. 1 girls doubles.

Also winning an individual state championship was No. 2 singles player Avery McDaniel. The freshman Mustang defeated Lamar 0-6, 7-5, 6-4.

The No. 2 doubles sophomore combination of Anne Craig Melton and Elizabeth Powers lost to Lamar 6-3, 6-4. This was the second year that Melton and Powers came up short against Lamar in the finals.

No. 1 singles player Dia Chawla was overpowered 6-2, 6-3 in the finals to close out the win for Lamar.

The Lady Mustangs return six of seven starters next year, losing only Crick.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.