Kermit Davis

Ole Miss head coach Kermit Davis argues a call in a game against Missouri Saturday in Columbia, Mo. Mississippi won the game 73-68. Davis has been named the SEC coach of the year by The Associated Press.

Ole Miss coach Kermit Davis was named coach of the year, and Mississippi State guard Quindary Weatherspoon was named to the first team when The Associated Press released its All-SEC basketball teams Tuesday.

Ole Miss guard Breein Tyree was named second team All-SEC.

Davis’ SEC coach of the year designation by The Associated Press triggers one of the many incentives in the contract he signed with Ole Miss last March.

Davis makes $2.5 million a year through 2022.

The contact includes 14 different markers for bonus pay through categories that include: attendance, SEC achievement, posteason play, academics and coach of the year designation.

The SEC honor he was awarded Tuesday earns him $50,000.

If the Rebels reach the NCAA tournament — as many "bracketologists" have them projected to do right now — Davis will earn $50,000 plus $25,000 for each win in the tournament up to the Final Four.

Davis would earn $125,000 for the Final Four or $250,000 for winning the national championship.

The SEC tournament gets under way in Nashville Wednesday. MSU and Ole Miss will play on Thursday with the No. 7 seed Rebels taking on No. 10 seed Alabama at 6 p.m.

Mississippi State will follow that game against the winner of Texas A&M and Vanderbilt who play Wednesday.

Noted bracket watchers Joe Lunardi of ESPN, Jerry Palm of CBS and Andy Katz of all have Ole Miss and MSU solidly inside the NCAA tournament as postseason arrives.

A Leakesville native with family in Tupelo, Davis in his debut season has led Ole Miss to a 20-11 mark, 10-8 in the SEC after the Rebels were picked to finish last. Ole Miss finished 12-20, 5-13 last season. It’s the ninth conference coach of the year award for Davis, his first in the SEC.

Weatherspoon and Tyree are tied for second in the SEC in scoring at 18.5 points a game.

A senior from Canton, Weatherspoon earlier this week was named winner of the Howell Trophy for a second-straight season. The trophy is awarded to Mississippi’s top college basketball player. Tyree was a finalist.

Weatherspoon led the SEC in scoring in conference games at 19.4 points per game.

A junior from Somerset, N.J., Tyree ranks second in conference-only scoring at 19.0 points per game.

Tyree is the only player to rank in the conference’s top 10 in scoring, field goal percentage, free throw percentage and 3-point field goals.

Tennessee forward Grant Williams was named the league’s player of the year, Kentucky freshman guard Tyler Herro the newcomer of the year.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.